This website uses "cookies" to improve browsing and provide additional features. This data will not be used to identify or contact you.

How to set up filtering and delayed message sending?

After you've set up your channel and subscribed to it yourself or invited your team members, you can set up filtering and / or delayed message sending for each recipient.

Filtering allows distinguishing between different flows of messages from the same sources and direct them to different communication tools or to different people. And delayed sending helps to be sure that important messages will definitely be noticed and responded to as soon as possible.

To configure everything, take the following steps:

  1. On the channel management screen in the Recipients section, click the Edit button opposite the desired recipient.
  2. Edit Subscription
  3. This will open the subscription configuration screen:
  4. Configuration screen
  5. On this screen, you can:

How to disable / enable messages to the recipient?

By default, all added recipients are in Enabled mode. This is indicated by a check mark next to the corresponding line.

If you want a specific recipient to temporarily not receive notifications, it is not necessary to remove it completely from the list of subscriptions, just uncheck the box. When you want to “activate” the recipient again, just put the check mark back in place.

Enabled Subscription

How to set up filtering by priority?

Priority filtering allows you to determine the importance of notifications the recipient will get. There are 5 values ​​available: Lowest, Low, Medium, High, and Highest.

So you can configure receiving notifications marked as Highest via voice calls, so as not to miss the most important notifications, marked as High and Medium - via SMS, and marked as Low and Lowest - via messengers.

Each source defines its own hierarchy of priorities for events. For some services, you can independently set priority levels for different types of notifications./p>

To choose how important notifications will go to a particular recipient, put a checkmark next to the desired priority levels:

Priority filter.png

How to set up filtering by level?

Filtering by level allows you to choose what type of notifications will be sent to the recipient. The levels determine the state of the source that sent the notification. There are 6 types: Verbose, Info, Notice,Warning, Error, and Success.

So, for example, you can send Verbose messages with a detailed build log to email, and Error messages to Slack or Telegram, for a faster response.

As with priorities, notification levels are individually defined for each source.

To set the levels of notifications that will be sent to a particular recipient, check the boxes next to the desired levels:

Level filter.png

How to set up filtering by time and day?

Filtering by time and day allows you to define at what time and on which days of the week notifications will be received.

With this filter, for example, you can organize shift work (notifying employees only on their shift). Or, implement various notification methods depending on the time of day: send messages to instant messengers during the day, and via voice calls at night.

To set the time frame for the receipt of notifications, check the boxes in the necessary cells:

Time filter.png

How to set up delayed sending?

The delayed sending function allows you to control the receipt of notifications if the response time is limited. For example, you can set up sending a message about an order in an online store to another manager or sales head if the assigned employee does not respond to it within 10 minutes.

In addition, delayed sending will help you find a trade-off between notification delivery speed and budget saving. For example, you can set a voice call (which is a paid option) to be sent with a delay of 5 minutes, and the employee will receive it only if they don’t notice the message in the messenger during this time. So paid voice calls or SMS will be used only at critical moments.

To configure deferred sending, in the Send if there is no action field, select the required deferral period from the drop-down list. Sending a delayed message or call is possible after 1, 5, 10 or 15 minutes. By default, all recipients have the Send immediately option.

Delayed sending.png

To prevent deferred sending to the next recipient from being activated, the initial recipient must click on the action button in the chat window:

Telegram delayed sending

If during the selected time the action button is not clicked in the messenger, the message will be forwarded further.


After you have configured all the filters, click on the Save button.


Congratulations! Acquaintance with Notify.Events within the «Getting Started» block of articles is completed. Now you know a lot about the service and can start getting your notifications sent from anywhere to anyone.

To learn more about setting up the service, its features, billing system, perks and much more, read the other sections of the Notify.Events Help.